10 Easy Steps To A Family Photo Book With iPhoto 11

10 Easy Steps To A Family Photo Book With iPhoto 11

10 Easy Steps To A Family Photo Book With iPhoto 11

My usual topics are about food or China but today I want to share some good information with you. You will find it helpful if you have planned to make a Family Photo Book. This is my second photo book with iPhoto 11 since I just upgraded from iPhoto 9. If you find this useful or not, please take a little time to give me your feedback!

Making a family album of your old photos can be a daunting task because if you’re like me, the sheer volume of photos and most without dates or names can be scary to attempt. There are many good tutorials on how to use iPhoto so I won’t bore you with those details. But I do have a way to simplify the process.

My project started with a selection of over 500 family photos ranging in dates from the early 1900’s all the way through to the early 1980’s. I had each decade of photos in individually labelled Ziploc baggies. Paying to have them scanned was a huge time-saver. Having them scanned and named by decade helped to keep them in a sort of chronological order. I also made a separate pile for photos that needed to be scanned on the back for those that  have handwritten inscriptions, or ‘love notes’, as I found with my parents’ photos, sent to one another while my Dad was in the UK during WW2.

From there, the work of making the photo book became my task; and with iPhoto it just couldn’t be easier. I know this from past experience. Over the years, I’ve made many photo books, choosing a variety of photo book companies from a vast array available online. I’ve used Blurb.com, treasure-books.com, shutterfly.com, iPhoto (Apple.com) and PhotobookChina.com. With the exception of the last, they have all made a beautiful finished product.

My other iPhoto 11 photo book was a compilation of my granddaughter’s art from the past 8 years and I have a screen shot of it at the end of this post. I used the same method but didn’t put the photos of the art in chronological order. Next time!

But satisfaction difference has been in the ease of use of the software. Having the photo software on your computer means not having to rely on a slow Internet connection or losing your work as one terrifying factor. The other would be the way the software is user friendly and predictable, and the interface at the ordering process is so uncomplicated.

So my recently completed Silverman/Weitzman Family Album on the way to be processed and I have compiled this list of how I got the project finished. Read on…!

Silverman Weitzman Family Album using iPhoto 11

Silverman Weitzman Family Album using iPhoto 11

1. IN iPhoto, MAKE A NEW ALBUM

– Gather your photos into one event; only selecting the best of a series of several of the same poses to reduce the amount of photos.

– When you use Auto-Flow, having the names of the photos in sequential order will be very helpful, especially when you switch from one family group within the bigger family.

2. START A NEW PHOTO BOOK PROJECT

– Start a new photo book and select the style, design features you prefer

– Including the style of cover and size of the book/pages

3. ADD THE DETAILS FOR THE FRONT AND BACK COVERS AND INSIDE JACKET COVER

– Select the photos for the front and back covers and inside jacket covers and backs.

– Choosing photos of the matriarch and patriarch of the family by cropping their faces out of an old photo is great way to highlight their contribution to the family. Add the text as required, or leave that to later when you add captions and inspiration comes naturally.

4. UNIFY YOR BOOK WITH BACKGROUND CHOICES

– The most interesting photo books focus on the photos and not the extras, so it’s best to have all backgrounds the same colour/style to unify the book.

– With iPhoto there are many choices for faming each photo that can be changed later.

5. USE AUTOFLOW TO INSERT YOUR PHOTOS

– Use autoflow to insert all photos into the book, it’s the most efficient way to begin your photo placement.

– It gives you a good place to start and a feeling of some accomplishment!

6. REGROUP AND REARRANGE YOUR PHOTOS

– Starting at the first page go back and replace and regroup photos as necessary, since sometimes photos are not in the exact order that you chose to begin with.

– Autoflow tends to put more pages with less photos on each page. I like to group same-event photos onto layouts of 3 to 6 photos.

– Select layouts without captions at the bottom or side of the page when possible.

– There are so many custom layouts to choose from if you scroll down in the layout drop down list.

– Use the photo border that has the caption at the bottom of each photo. This gives you a larger photo size and less unused blank space.

– Including a last page with the dates of birth/death of each old family member helps future generations with all this leg work that is sometimes a futile effort because those folks are no longer alive.

7. PHOTO EDIT THE PICTURES

– Go back and change all the photo colours: For black and white photos that are very old, the ‘antique’ colouring shows the photos off to their best.

– At the same time, make the photos larger within the frames and centre them to look their best.

8. PUT IN CAPTIONS

– Go back to the beginning again and put in all captions, using the same fonts and colour.

– In the text function, select the font, colour and style for all captions by clicking the check-off box. Some captions are longer than others, requiring a smaller font.

– Verify the dates of the photos by looking at the originals on the front and back.

– Once dates are verified, you may want to move some photos around one last time.

9. SAVE YOUR BOOK AS A PDF

– Save your book as a PDF and print it out in PDF format on regular paper and in black and white to make sure there are no typos, name or date mistakes.

– Make the changes to the original document in iPhoto.

– Save as a pdf again for other family members to view in advance of the final printing.

10. PLACE OUR ORDER USING YOUR ITUNES ACCOUNT AND WAIT PATIENTLY FOR THE MAIL!

– Order your photobook using your Apple iTunes account.

– Patiently wait for the courier/mail to arrive!

Please take a moment to give me your feedback in the comments section. Thanks and happy photo booking!

Artwork By Ashley and Emily

Artwork By Ashley and Emily

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Monday, April 8, 2013, in Just for Fun, Thoughts!, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for the time in pulling this together as I’m about to embark on my first ever album. I have just one question and that is are there only 2 sizes available for the hardcover book. I live in Australia and it seems to only give me the 33cm x 25cm or 28cm x 22cm choice and not really any choice on paper.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards,

    Angela

    • I just checked Google and there are many sizes available, so I don’t know how I can help. And there are no paper choices but I can tell you that the books from iPhoto are amazing, beautifully done and very high quality. So good luck!

      Large

      11×8.5 inches
      20 pages
      99¢/additional page

      Extra Large

      13×10 inches
      20 pages
      $1.49/additional page

      Small

      3.5×2.6 inches
      3‑pack only*
      20 pages
      29¢/additional page

      Medium

      8×6 inches
      20 pages
      49¢/additional page

      Large

      11×8.5 inches
      20 pages
      69¢/additional page

Leave a Reply

