Grocery Shopping in China

grocery shopping in China

grocery shopping in China

Today’s the fourth day of Chinese New Year and almost every shop along my street has been closed since before the holiday. Luckily I had stocked up. But today I went out looking for cilantro to make some winter melon soup for dinner and fruit and nuts for snacks for some friends who may come and visit me in the next few days. So here’s what I got for the equivalent of $26.00: 3 cucumbers and cilantro, a small bottle of sesame oil, 1/2 pound corn flour and 2 pounds sugar. Fruit: 1-1/2 pounds lichee fruit, 6 mandarin oranges, 4 pounds strawberries (to freeze for breakfast smoothies), 3 pears, and nuts – 1/2 pound almonds, 3/4 pound pistachios and 1/2 pound macadamias. Actually the price of everything is inflated by about 15% because it’s a holiday.

Cost in Toronto?

About Roz Weitzman's World

Periodically in China since 2005 to research my cookbooks and travel in China and southeast Asia. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I published my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Wednesday, February 13, 2013, in Just for Fun, Letters From China, Thoughts! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I say the cost in Toronto is about $40 — Here in Naples, Fl., because of season at least $60. The soup sounds wonderful. Is it in the cookbook?

Leave a Reply

