Finally Back After Two Months

Who knows how long this connection is going to last so I have to type fast. Here goes:

Last week the tree that came in 150 pieces (exaggeration!) and took a week to assemble was finished…4 storeys (sp, I know) tall!

Christmas in Kunming - Golden Eagle Plaza Tree

Christmas in Kunming – Golden Eagle Plaza Tree

I spent Christmas Day at an upscale mall, taking care of haircut, highlights, mani, pedi and a little browsing around. The complex is so large and there are many Christmasey displays. This one caught my eye..it’s a maze in the round and looks beautiful at night – the Chinese do night displays so well:

Wangfujing Mall - Christmas maze in the round

Wangfujing Mall – Christmas maze in the round

I browsed around after doing the primping at the Hair Dresser and found a lovely Western flower shop. I couldn’t resist buying a container of 3 Hyacinth bulbs planted in a burlap bag to take home….very cute.

Hyacinths out on the ledge outside the Flower Shoppe

Hyacinths out on the ledge outside the Flower Shoppe

This flower shoppe had decorated a gazebo in from their shop with hanging callalilies wraped in ribbon.

Wangfujing Mall - hanging ribbon wrapped calalilies

Wangfujing Mall – hanging ribbon wrapped calalilies

OMG! Today I went with my friends to the humongous wholesale market a 10 minute drive from my house. It so huge you have to know which number of section and the floor for the article you want to buy….there is section A-G and then Section 8-11 and 7 floors. The purpose was to find New Years decorations, which we never really found, but New Years (well sort of) decorations in Section E on the 3rd floor and then paper to make a HAPPY NEW YEAR banner in section F on the third floor…how convenient. When I was there a few weeks ago to buy Uggs for the girls, I was in section 10 on the 2nd floor.  (Don’t ask about the charge to courier them to Canada.) This place is so huge, you could get lost in there in a minute and I have a compass built-in in my brain!

After we went for lunch. A Dai ethnic minority restaurant and I happily went thinking there are such new and different foods. My friends are originally born in Sichuan Province (hot and spicy food) and it was to spicy for them. Their eyes were watering. I ate a few bits and a bowl of white rice….Oh I forgot we also had pineapple rice – sticky black rice, steamed in a pineapple sell with chunks of pineapple in it. The recipe is going in my Yunnan cookbook, as it’s a traditional local dish.!

Yunnan Pineapple Rice

Yunnan Pineapple Rice

The following dishes were just so spicy one bit was enough to bring tears to my eyes!

Spicy Yunnan Woodear and Greens Cold Dish

Spicy Yunnan Woodear and Greens Cold Dish

Yunnan Spicy Plantain

Yunnan Spicy Plantain

Me making a terrible face from the one bite of each dish...OMG was that spicy!

Me making a terrible face from the one bite of each dish…OMG was that spicy!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Wednesday, December 26, 2012, in Friends, In the News, Just for Fun, Letters From China, Thoughts! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

