Funky Apple Jell-O

How about this? An oldie from my past but a goodie, chronicling my love for jelly gelatin treats, this dessert returns!  Jell-O with fresh grated apple. It can’t get easier or more refreshing.


Last week, I found a Cherry-flavoured box of Jell-O. Imagine – in my Chinese kitchen cupboard. Where I got it, I can’t remember. Must have been in Beijing where this kind of foreign food is available in select stores (at a price premium).

So I went ahead and made Funky Cherry Apple Jell-O for the party. All of it was gone almost the minute I put it on the table along with the cheesecake and the fudge brownies. Now, no more Jell-o! I know you say, why not find a suitable “how to make homemade Jell-0” recipe off the web. Well, guess what, I certainly did but – can’t find Kool-aid here in Kunming either.

Well, in my travels in town yesterday I managed to pass by Paul’s Foreign Food Store and low and behold – Jell-O. Certainly not my favourite flavours – but beggars can’t be choosers. So I take three, cranberry, berry blue, and lime.

On my way out, I speak with Paul and ask him if he can get the most common and delicious flavour, strawberry, raspberry and cherry. He is going to call me if/when he gets more Jell-O.
So to make Funky Apple Jell-O, all you need is one small box of Gelatin mix, 3 crisp apples, hot water and cold water or one cup of ice cubes.

Being a bit on the impatient side for some things, and making Jell-O is one of them, I always use the Quick Set method and if I’m adding stuff to it, I will also cut down on the amount of hot water. For the quick set method, mix one box of Gelatin Mix with 3/4 cup of boiling water. Stir the mixture until all of the crystals are dissolved. Stir in one cup of icecubes and stir until the mixture starts to thicken. Peel and core the apples. Grate them into the Jell-O mixture. Refrigerate until firm (about 2 hours).

You will enjoy the sweet jelly taste mixed with the crisp texture and tartness of the apples!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Friday, August 31, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Roz…you have such interesting posts!

Leave a Reply

