Downtown Local Wet Market

Local wet markets all across China have many similar things in common – they contain the basic things:

– eggs

– local fresh vegetables and mushrooms

– fresh herbs including fresh chillies of all kinds

– local fresh fruit

– local loose, dried cooking supplies – beans, rice, flour, spices

– nuts and dried fruit

– local fresh noodles – rice, wheat, bean (picture below shows the bags of rice in the foreground and the freshly made rice noodles hanging vertically to dry in the background)

– fresh meat, poultry, and fish (sometimes refrigerated or frozen, most often neither)

– local fresh tofu – all varieties

– local varieties of pickled vegetables and sauces

– local dried, steamed, cooked, smoked meats

– fresh and potted flowers and plants

– tea of all kinds, including tea-making utensils and supplies

I like visiting local wet markets in a variety of areas of the city to see the differences in the produce on offer. A downtown market in the heart of the city had just those little differences to make it fun to be there.
Managing to get a great find, I stopped to watch a shop keeper serving some customers to see what they were buying. It was pork tenderloin, cooked and smoked. She gave me a little taste and I bought a piece at the far right in the picture.

She gave me a little bag of very spicy Sichuan pepper/salt but the meat was spicy enough for me already. I had that for lunch with some leftover Yang Zhou Fried Rice and slices of fresh cucumber.

Yum, I say!
Almost ready to leave, there they were – Yunnan Wild Mushrooms – calling me. I stopped to discuss the names and made myself the ‘foreign expert’ in wild mushrooms, which I am not. What made me the expert in her mind was that she had the few varieties that I remembered the Chinese names for and I didn’t hesitate to speak to  her in Chinese.

Here is a seller who has wild mushroom varieties, most of which I don’t know their names or how to cook them so I don’t get sick. I buy the ones near the blue and white scale at the top left corner. I know those; they are porcini or Niu Gan Jun mushrooms and I’m going to have them for my dinner tonight.

Another seller and I have a long conversation. She tells me the name of the green ones and to be honest, I can’t remember it. But that green hue makes me nervous so I skip buying them. I don’t know exactly how to cook them properly.

This seller also has the Gan Ba Jun or Dried Beef Mushrooms and I know them well. I bought them several weeks ago at the Wild Mushroom City, YiMen. It’s interesting to see how they grow around/inside a bed of pine needles and that’s what makes them so hard to clean. They grow with the needles embedded inside the mushroom meat and you have to have the patience of a saint to clean the pine needles out of the mushrooms. Those are the ones that took three of us 5 hours to clean one an a half pounds…no thanks! They were delicious but nope, not for me.

When I cooked them for the party with a huge amount of green chillies, I can honestly say they were delicious but I can’t go through the cleaning process.

Recipe to follow another day, I promise.

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Friday, August 31, 2012, in Chinese Cookbook, Recipes, Thoughts!, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a terrific market … I am drooling with envy 🙂

  2. Hi there! Yes, all the markets in China are like this. Some are more clean than others but they always have a fresh selection since the locals won’t travel to a supermarket. They will go to the market daily and bring home the freshest ingredients for use that day. And most of the produce doesn’t last that long either. Most don’t have refrigerators or freezers or if they do, they are small in size and don’t fit a week’s supply like we have back home. When I go to the market (several times a week) I am always on the look out for new things to try. Thanks for commenting on my post! Regards, Roz

Leave a Reply

