Manchurian Vegetable Balls

Making friends with someone who cooks these vegetable balls has been a challenge since it’s more of a Northern China dish and I live in Southern China. I had found several recipes  but – wow – the long list of ingredients and 150 steps in the procedure turned me off completely! Finally I watched the lady in my local wet market while she was making them to sell, and I got a good idea of what was involved, having eaten them so very often back in Beijing and Qingdao.

So here you have it, my take on Chinese Vegetable Balls… This recipe is included in my Chinese Cookbook “The Secrets of Chinese Comfort Food – Everyday Chinese Cooking“, soon to be published.

Manchurian Vegetable Balls

Makes 20 1 1/2 to 2 inch balls

1 carrot, grated (makes about 1 cup)

1 zucchini, grated (makes about 1 cup)

½ small cooking onion, grated (makes about ½ cup)

½ cup each of chopped cilantro, chopped fresh mint, and chopped green onion

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons Chinese chicken bouillon granules

1/2 teaspoon black pepper powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

several dashes of chilli powder (add as much or as little for desired spiciness)

2 teaspoons sesame oil

oil for deep frying

Mix all ingredients in a mixing bowl. More flour may be required if it’s too watery and to make the mixture stick together.

Heat oil for deep-frying on medium high heat in a wok. When oil is hot, reduce the heat to medium.

Lightly wet hands and form mixture into small balls. Add balls in groups of 5 or 6 to the oil and deep by turning balls frequently. Balls are cooked when they are lightly browned outside and firm in texture inside.

Serve with sweet chilli, soy, or plum sauce for dipping.

Eat and enjoy!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Wednesday, August 15, 2012, in Chinese Cookbook, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

