Who Says There’s No GOOD Bread in China

Well, it is true. There is very little good, Western bread in China. Certainly not in Kunming anyways. Jenny Lou and Jenny Wong stores in Beijing have nice bread and Hisense Plaza Supermarket in the basement in Qingdao has good bread but that’s about it for what I know.

Actually Bread Talk in Kunming and I hear the Wicker Basket also are okay but still too much sugar, not enough ‘bread taste’, more of a plasticy taste for me. Which brings to mind the old adage “If it tastes like it, and smells like it, then it must be ‘it’ ” I think there are too many chemical additives for the Chinese bread to be healthy.

So where do you ask, have I found this GOOD bread…it’s in my kitchen. After at least a dozen batches, I have come up with the perfect recipe for my ‘kinda Easy Bake Oven’ (which is a small portable thing, not like a real oven) and for the altitude of Kunming, which is elevation: 1892 meters.

Egg (Challah) Buns

Makes 16 large buns – 180 calories per bun

4 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup warm water

6 tablespoons oil

6 tablespoons sugar

1 ½ teaspoons salt

4 – 4 1/2 cups bread flour (not Chinese flour – the buns will never rise)

1 package or 1-1 ½ tablespoons active dry yeast

1 egg and a pinch of salt, beaten for glazing

Sesame seeds or poppy seeds for topping

Place ingredients in the bread pan of your bread machine in the order given, and set to Dough setting.

NOTE: My bread machine takes one and a half hours in the dough setting and the dough has had a first rise. If you are not using a bread machine, follow the same procedure, kneed the dough for 10 minutes and then place in a covered bowl in a warm place to rise for one hour. Then follow the remainder of the instructions.

Turn off machine and turn dough onto a lightly floured cutting board. Divide the dough into four for 16 fist-sized pieces. I weighed my little pieces and each weighs 70 grams. Since I was bad in cutting into equal pieces I used a food scale and it helped!

Make into buns by taking each piece and forming them into a bun shape or by rolling into a six-inch long rope. From the long rope, form a knot. Then place each bun on a parchment-covered baking sheet. Cover and place in a warm place. Let rise for thirty minutes to one hour, or until almost doubled.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Brush buns with the one beaten egg. Sprinkle with poppy seeds or sesame seeds.

Bake covered with foil for 25 minutes to avoid excessive browning. Then remove the foil and continue to bake for another 5-10 minutes or until golden brown.

Now it’s time to have a sandwich. YUM!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2012, in Friends, Just for Fun, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just discovered a bread machine that Rick had, while sorting things in the basement.Ill have to try and find the directions how to use it so I can try making this bread too! yummy!

    • Leslie, we all love our food processors and they are almost a necessity if you want to cook seriously, but next to the rice cooker, the bread machine’s the best appliance invented. I love to make dough in it on the dough cycle only. Bread dough, pizza dough, dough for rolls, it’s so great for cinnamon rolls too! I never bake it to finished loaf. But it’s so great for all the kneading that’s required. I can’t do the kneading thing, my wrists get sore for weeks afterwards. That’s carpel tunnel happening.

      There is a ton of bread machine recipes and tips for using it on the net; I never use my bread machine books except for making pizza dough. The only big secrets are 1) measure the flour properly (don’t ‘stuff’ the flour into the measuring cup like I used to do ’cause too much flour ruins the dough – stops it from rising) and 2) add the ingredients into the bowl according to your brand of machine. Usually all the wet first, followed by dry ingredients, and lastly the yeast on the top. That’s it. Talk about easy-peasy.

      On Aug 14, 2012,

Leave a Reply

