My Family’s Favourite Apple Cake

Piece of Apple Cake

Piece of Apple Cake

My love for cooking began when I was 11 and my mother gave me a great recipe for Apple Cake from the Hertzl Zion Cookbook, 1958 edition, and asked me to make it myself. I have added and subtracted from this recipe often over the years and countless times of baking it, making this cake one of the most gratifying to bake. My family raved at the first cake I ever made “My Family’s Favourite Apple Cake” and continue to do so over the years.  The pleasure that they expressed over my first baking experiment has made cooking my lifelong passion ever since.

My Family’s Favourite Apple Cake

2 eggs

¾ cup oil

3 tablespoons cold water

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

teaspoons vanilla

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

4-6 peeled, cored and sliced Macintosh or other variety of apples

2 tablespoons cinnamon

4 tablespoons brown sugar

Mix eggs with oil.

Add water, baking powder, salt, vanilla and sugar and blend well.

Add flour and stir well.  Add more water by the teaspoonful if necessary.

Pour 2/3 of mixture into a well-greased 8-inch square baking dish.  Using more batter on the bottom forces the apples slices to stay close to the top and not sink down.

Place sliced apples on top and sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar.

Carefully spread the remainder of the batter by drizzling it onto top of apples in a very thin layer.  Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Apple Cake right out of the oven

Apple Cake right out of the oven

About Roz Weitzman's World

Living and working in China since 2005. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I publishes my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". You can have a look at it on my newly launched website, www.rozweitzmansworld.com where you can browse all my books and see the interesting stuff I'm doing. Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

