My Foray into Homemade Italian Spice Mix

Sadly, I have run out of store-bought Italian Spice. None of the Western food sections of the local supermarkets here in Kunming, Yunnan Province, of the People’s Republic of China carry it. So what do cooks do these days besides go to their cookbook selves…Google for recipes online!

For those of us who live in places where Western foods are not readily available, the internet  has become a life saver. Not only can you find recipes but if you have a VPN service (because the Great FireWall of China is alive and well and stopping us from viewing whatever only content we choose. One needs a VPN to survive Facebook, WordPress, all blogs (and anything even mildly controversial).  You can even watch cooking videos. I recently looked at videos for how to make such unavailable items as sour cream, ricotta cheese and buttermilk, to name just a few.

I digress. Last night I googled several recipes for homemade Italian Spice and came up with a variety of choices. I realized that making Italian Spice was not an exact science. So here’s my recipe and you can follow it to the ‘t’ or add or subtract in any combination, completely at your own whim or taste, or because of spices you have or don’t have in your kitchen spice rack:

INGREDIENTS (T=tablespoon, tsp.=teaspoon):

3 T marjoram

3 T basil

3 T oregano

3 T parsley

2 T thyme

2 T rosemary

2 T garlic powder

1 T onion powder

1 T paprika

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper

METHOD:

In a bowl or the bowl of your food processor, mix all of the ingredients.

Ground together with a mortar and pestle, use the back of a spoon to crush and mix together, or blend in the food processor.

The aroma is splendid, you know the ingredients are fresh and you can customize to suit your particular taste. If I weren’t feeling a little lazy today, I make some sauce! Enjoy!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Periodically in China since 2005 to research my cookbooks and travel in China and southeast Asia. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I published my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Friday, August 10, 2012, in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

