My Memoir – A Work in Progress

As you may already know, I have been working on my Memoir for several months now. First I got the theme – that I have ended up in a good place despite all the turmoil of my family life when I was young. Then I wrote down a list of all the good memories and the bad memories of my past. Next I elaborated on each memory and put them into life chapters. That was more or less free writing. Not a lot of consideration to voice and style, just getting the memories out. That process started off slowly but quickly I picked up momentum, my deeply buried thoughts coming up to the surface.

When that was done I was ready to intertwine my lovely China life together with my past. I have been putting parts of my letters into my memories, I’m about one quarter through my letters and realize I need a way to know what ideas have been covered so far and what hasn’t.

My computer is set up on my bamboo tea table and chairs, on my screened in patio/balcony, looking out over the foothills of the Himalayan Mountains in the distance and this is where I get my inspiration to write each day.

Today I took another leap in my memoir. This is the chapter outline of the China part. The points within each chapter or page on the door is an interesting fact/idea/etc. about China that I want meshed into my memories to demonstrate the sheer difference between life before and after China. Now I can see at a glance what points have been covered and which haven’t, as I insert the excerpts in the book. By now checking off points as I go, this may help. May not. Will see….

About Roz Weitzman's World

Periodically in China since 2005 to research my cookbooks and travel in China and southeast Asia. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I published my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Friday, July 20, 2012, in Letters From China and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

