Launch of My Chinese Cookbook

My Chinese Cookbook

My Chinese Cookbook is in the hands of my editor who will go through the book with a fine-toothed comb and suss out the errors in my manuscript. As soon as she is finished her work it will become an ebook and hopefully sell millions of copies, worldwide. Yes worldwide. It is being translated into Chinese and Spanish.

Tentative Book Title: The Secrets of Chinese Comfort Food – Everyday Chinese Cooking

Concept

With over 65 original recipes in 10 categories and using commonly found ingredients, this cookbook is sure to “Simplified Chinese Food [while serving up] – Authentic Everyday Chinese Cooking”. You can create delicious Chinese dishes that are bound to wow your guests or your family. Take the list of Chinese ingredients to your local food market and it will help you find exactly the right ingredient for every delicious dish. You’ve even got the Chinese characters to help you out in your local Chinatown or Chinese supermarket. All recipes focus on high in taste, are low in calories and are a feast for the eyes – including familiar favourites along with tasty traditional delights that are easy, quick and ever so affordable. Refer to all the original photos to guide you a long in the cooking process, so that you know exactly what your finished dish should look like. There are even many tips to help make your Chinese meal an authentic experience.

Overview

Having published my first ecookbook over 10 years ago, titled My Family’s Favourite foods, it’s now time to do it again. Living in China since 2005, I have learned the secrets to Chinese cooking from the experts, the people of China, from my Chinese boyfriend, from the Chinese cooking school where I took three classes, and from the friends like Dave who I have cooked with over the years in China.  During these times, I stood by watching the cook and carefully, with pen and paper in hand, like a stenographer, wrote down the recipes according to Western recipe writing style and format!

Now it’s time to share these secrets and these recipes with you, over 65 recipes in 10 food categories. Not only that but I have included sample menu for a Chinese dinner for four and five people. I hope you enjoy your trip to Chinese cooking without even leaving your own kitchen. All you need is a few common Chinese condiments, a wok and the freshest of ingredients that you can find….oh, I forgot to mention the one other tool of the Chinese kitchen that is used for all food preparation, the famous Chinese cleaver! Once you get the hang of it, you’ll never go back to a Western kitchen knife.

Table of Contents

Introduction: Note About the Author, Roz Weitzman…….. 6

Tips for Chinese Cooking Using the Recipes in this Cookbook…….. 7

The Basics of Chinese Meals…….. 7

The Traditional Chinese Meal…….. 8

Menu for Chinese Dinner for Four…….. 8

Menu for Chinese Dinner for Five…….. 8

Cold Dishes……. 9

Asparagus Salad, Chinese Style…….. 10

Fresh Cucumber Salad Chinese Style…….. 11

Fresh Baby Cabbage Salad Chinese Style…….. 12

Cold Tofu Salad Chinese Style…….. 13

Chinese Cabbage, Cilantro and Red Pepper Salad…….. 14

etc.


Sample Text

Introduction: Note About the Author, Roz Weitzman

I have lived in China for many years and learned my Chinese cooking skills from the people of Beijing. Beijing has been the ”seat” of Chinese cuisine since the time of the emperors who lived in the Forbidden City in Beijing and set the standard for good Chinese food.

My friend Jake taught me the correct way to slice, dice, sliver, and stir fry the ingredients and how to wash and cook them. He’s an amazing cook – not a professional chef though. The recipes are his food – I helped him cook all the while writing the recipes at his side. He can make a meal for two – 2 dishes, a rice or noodle dish and soup – in 45-60 min. He’s just that good. Only a single wok is needed to do all the work preparing the dishes with colour, size, and texture in mind. He taught me that Chinese meal must have balance, look beautiful, and taste great.

Jake and I cooked together, he with the famous Chinese cleaver as his only tool, and me with my notebook and pen in hand, writing down the steps, asking him what amounts he used, and then enjoying hearty and yet low calorie, delicious meals, served with lots of yummy vegetables, small portions of protein, and not a hunk of meat in sight.

Once I got the hang of the Chinese method of cooking from Jake, I took a series of lessons from a famous cooking school in Beijing. The lessons taught me about the different styles of cooking and about what to look for in good seasonings. We toured a Chinese Wet Market to learn the staples of vegetables and herbs. I also learned techniques from my friend and wonderful cook, Dave Wei. We traded Chinese cooking recipes all the time, even cooking together on some Western dishes. This gave me more insight into the secrets of Chinese cooking, to the point where I now am able to assemble and prepare a complete Chinese meal from scratch. I have even eaten dishes in restaurants and then recreated them, with delicious results. These include such memorable dishes as Rainbow Crystal in Lettuce Folds, Singapore Noodles, and Cold Tofu Salad, to name a few.

The secret to successful Chinese cooking lies in the preparation before the actual cooking starts, and to lightly cook all dishes to keep the colours of the ingredients looking very fresh and crisp.

All of these recipes have been cooked at least twice or more, to ensure accuracy of the ingredients and the right taste for each dish. The guests, foreigners and Chinese alike, at my many dinner parties have critiqued my cooking. This cookbook has also been edited thoroughly, and I would like to thank Rosemary Irwin for her services in this regard. But if you find any error or have an opinion to share, please do not hesitate to email me at roz@candismail.com.cn. I promise to send you a revised edition at no cost.

I enjoyed writing this cookbook, and I hope you will enjoy your foray into the world of Chinese cooking which this book offers.  You will no longer feel the mystery surrounding delicious Chinese cuisine. Enjoy!

http://gravatar.com/rozw

About Roz Weitzman's World

Periodically in China since 2005 to research my cookbooks and travel in China and southeast Asia. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I published my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Tuesday, July 17, 2012, in Chinese Cookbook, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

