My Trip to Beijing, February 2, 2011.

As you may already know, I have lived in Qingdao for the past 6 months – a sea-side city which is a one-hour flight from Beijing, where I lived for the previous 5 years. I am now on holidays for 14 days – and no better time because it’s Chinese New Year, than to spend  5 days in Beijing with my lovely friends.

The fireworks across the skyline is amazing – and although my photography skills are sadly lacking for fireworks, you get the idea. This is a shot of the fireworks from the distance in my hotel.

I stay at the Westin Financial Street as the guests of Lewis and Maggie with the boys and Roberta. We have a great time chattng, sleeping, eating, walking, resting, more eating, more chating, more walking and doing some sparklers at night. The boys like the Lego Robotics kit I brought them for belated Chanukah and Chinese New Year present.

We walk past Maggie’s old school and take a photo.

Roberta and Maggie and I go to the Dirt Market but none of the carpet stalls that I was hoping to see are opened but we take some revolutionary pictures.

Dave and Susie come over one evening and we enjoy our time together.

I have a nice visit with many of my old friends – Michael and his family:

This lady with Michael is 77 years old, has lived in the same village all her life and has only seen a foreigner once before me (the Japanese who invaded China in 1937). She wants to know my age, can’t take her eyes off me and can’t believe how amazing I look for MY age!

Back home now, I am trying to master WordPress – the blog website and blog editor. Give me time. Comments please!

About Roz Weitzman's World

Periodically in China since 2005 to research my cookbooks and travel in China and southeast Asia. Loving the experience. Want to keep in touch with my friends and family all over the world! I published my Chinese Cookbook called 'Roz Weitzman's World of Chinese Comfort Food'. This week I published my latest in my series of Chinese cooking called "Roz Weitzman's World of Yunnan Food". Please won't you scribble a thought or two. I really appreciate your comments! AND IF YOU SHOULD WISH TO REPOST MY RECIPES OR OTHER OF MY POSTS ON YOUR OWN BLOG, BE SO KIND AS TO POST A LINK BACK TO MY BLOG AND GIVE ME CREDIT FOR MY ORIGINAL WORK. MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Posted on Monday, February 7, 2011, in Friends, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

